• Download E-Book
  • Phone No

    2248 2891

  • Email Id

    info@iliwbsu.in / iliwbsu@gmail.com

About Us


A word about


The Indian Law Institute and its West Bengal State Unit

To celebrate the sesquicentenary of the High Court at Calcutta, The Indian Law Institute (West Bengal State Unit) and The Calcutta High Court 150th Anniversary Committee published the book The High Court at Calcutta 150 Years: An Overview. The book was released by the Hon’ble Mr M. N. Vekatachaliah, former Chief Justice of India at a function held at the Calcutta High Court Auditorium on 30th March 2012.

The Indian Law Institute is an autonomous body registered under the Societies Registration Act, 1860. The national unit is at New Delhi, and each state has a unit. The national unit was founded in 1956 with the objective of promoting and conducting legal education and research. It was granted the status of a Deemed University in 2004 by the Government of India for conducting Degree and P. G. Diploma courses in law.

The President of the national unit is the Chief Justice of India, while the President of a state unit is the Chief Justice of the High Court of the state.

As far as the West Bengal State Unit is concerned, the Hon’ble Mrs. Justice Nishita Mhatre, Acting Chief Justice of the Calcutta High Court is its current President. The Treasurer is the Hon’ble Mr. Justice Biswanath Somadder.

The Indian Law Institute (WBSU) has been periodically organizing seminars, discussions, lectures and moot courts, at times in co-sponsorship with institutions like the United States Information Center. Erudite scholars and eminent professors of Law have delivered lectures as has a learned Supreme Court Judge from a neighbouring country. Rising junior lawyers have participated, along with legal luminaries, in seminars and debates, which have always seen a full house.